Physics

 


By the mid-18th century astronomers such as the Frenchman Charles Messier could detect blurry spots in the sky with simple telescopes. However with the devices existing at that time more precise structures could not be revealed.

In 1839, the Irish astronomer William Parsons built a reflecting telescope measuring 36 inches (91 cm) in diameter. With this device he discovered additional stars within diffusely illuminated gas masses. Motivated by these discoveries, he constructed a giant telescope with extremely high luminosity for that time. The primary mirror had a diameter of 72 inches (183 cm) and a focal distance of 16 m. It enabled Parsons to see that the previously identified blurry spots had spiral structures.

Whilst the “discoveries” themselves are not patentable, the physical laws and insights that lie behind them have formed the basis of countless innovations and inventions for centuries, which are still with us today. Modern LEDs, for example, which originate from the investigation on current conduction through crystals, have completely replaced the classic light bulb in many areas of application. With his observation “There is plenty of room at the bottom,” the physicist Richard Feynman founded the field of present-day nanotechnology, which enables the construction of materials and structures made up of individual atoms.
 
Scientific curiosity constantly results in new discoveries, which – when implemented in novel products – create a considerable competitive edge that should be protected.

Physics – Protect the New!

physik

 

Astronomen wie der Franzose Charles Messier konnten Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts mit Hilfe von einfachen Teleskopen nebelige Flecken am Himmel entdecken. Mit den zur Verfügung stehenden Geräten waren jedoch genauere Strukturen nicht zu erkennen.

1839 baute der irische Astronom William Parsons ein Spiegelteleskop mit 36 Zoll (91 cm) Durchmesser. Mit diesem Instrument fand er weitere Sterne innerhalb der diffus leuchtenden Gasmassen. Davon motiviert konstruierte er ein Riesenteleskop mit einer für die damalige Zeit extrem hohen Lichtstärke. Der Hauptspiegel besaß einen Durchmesser von 72 Zoll (1,83 m) und eine Brennweite von 16 m. Damit konnte Parsons erkennen, dass die bislang identifizierten Nebel Spiralstrukturen aufweisen.

Derartige „Entdeckungen“ sind bis heute nicht patentfähig. Die dahinter stehenden physikalischen Gesetze und Erkenntnisse bilden jedoch seit Jahrhunderten die Grundlage unzähliger Innovationen und Erfindungen, die uns bis in den Alltag hinein begleiten. So haben moderne LEDs, die ihren Ursprung in der Untersuchung der Stromleitung durch Kristalle finden, die klassische Glühlampe in vielen Bereichen vollständig ersetzt. Mit seiner Feststellung “There is plenty of room at the bottom“ begründete der Physiker Richard Feynman das Gebiet der heutigen Nanotechnologie, die es ermöglicht, Materialien und Strukturen aus einzelnen Atomen zu konstruieren.  

Wissenschaftliche Neugier schafft stetig neue Erkenntnisse, die – umgesetzt in innovative Produkte – einen beachtlichen Wettbewerbsvorsprung schaffen. Diesen sollte man sich absichern.

Physik – Das Neue schützen!